Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy day everyone! So I banned myself from baking.

why you ask?

Because I can’t be trusted with baked goods. I just can’t. I have no IDEA how some people can just eat ONE COOKIE. Who does that??? So After my two cake disaster over Independence day ( being that I baked two cakes and proceeded to eat them all by myself. Over the time period of 2 days. Oh- you think I’m exaggerating for the purpose of humour? I so wish I was.)

But thats all in the past. Today is the future. Or the present. So I decided to bake myself a little present. No idea why or what came over me… I broke the baking ban.

And you should be thanking your lucky stars I did coz what is about to follow is EPIC.

This recipe I am SO proud of because I made it up completely and expected it to fail because I had no vanilla and and not enough cocoa ( or so I thought), no honey- just a banana to sweeten it. I wasn’t very hopeful…

For the cookie dough:

1 cup of almond flour

half a cup of coconut four

a sprinkle of cinnamon

1 banana

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

cocoa powder ( now i didn;t measure this at all coz I had a little left so I just tipped the whole box over.. I am guessing somewhere between 1/8 to a 1/4 cup. My batter was a light brown colour)

Mix everything together in a bowl… never mind dry ingredients/ wet ingredients.. I just threw it all together and mashed with a spoon. This is primal eating boys and girls… I don’t think they had the tools to fuss over separate bowls. They probably didnt have ovens to bake cookies either. whatever.

For the Jam:

3 strawberries, some blueberries , some rhubarb ( I just took very small handfuls of each), a bit of water, a tablespoon of chia seeds and a little coconut. Let this sit for a little while to get all nice and gooey.

The cookie dough is quite sticky but definitely firm enough to roll into a little ball, then press your thumb into it to make a small indentation and spoon a little bit of jam into the indentation.

I also made one cookie with the jam inside!

I cooked them for 25 minutes, 200 degrees – I guess it depends on your oven really. I kept checking to make sure they didn’t dry out.

These come out a little crispy on the outside and SUPER soft and sticky on the inside.

I told you… EPIC. Try go slow.. I sure as hell didn;t. I ate them all.

Oh whats that, you think I’m joking?

I wish I was.

 

