Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

HELLO!!!

I hope everyone is healthy and happy!

I made such DELICIOUS chicken yesterday. SO fricken good words can;t do it justice.

1 kilo of chicken breast cut into strips ( baking is quicker that way) and laid out in a baking dish

For the Marinade:

1/4 cup dijon mustard

1/4 cup lemon juice

2 tsp olive oil

sprinkling of sweet paprika

chopped corriander

I Mixed the marinade up and poured it over the chicken and let it sit in the fridge for an hour. I think if you have to the time to leave it longer then DO IT!!! I baked it in the oven on high for about an hour.

Do your taste buds the biggest favour of their lives and make this!!!!

Last week I wanted to do WOD 5 of the crossfit open… which consisted of pullups and thrusters. I got started on the thrusters and next thing I knew my knee was twinging. I have had a pretty good run with my knee for the last 2 years… considering 3 years ago I COULD NOT WALK. Literally… I could not bend my knee or anything. So I am always wary of it and don’t ever go too heavy on squats, i only do back and side lunges ( NEVER forward) and I never run more then sprints or at the MOST 1km and I try get it as fast as possible.

So I was NOT impressed when my knee started to hurt. I iced it and let it rest a bit and went back to bodybuilding style workouts for the rest of the week. After a few days I tried out this workout, hoping to get a great leg and glute workout with no knee pain. It worked!!!

* glute activation- supermans and bridges

Then:

– deadlift ( 60kg)

– swings Β ( 15kg) supersetted with single leg hip thrusts

– bulgarian split squat- no weight

-single leg deadlift ( 2 x10kg)

– sliding side lunges- no weight

-weighted glute bridge

– pistols

To end:

hip flexor stretches Β and olympic bar rolling

This was an AMAZING leg workout that really got the glutes working hard!! I usually don’t do the same work out twice but considering my knee is a bit delicate at the moment I’m going to stick to this routine for awhile.

Happy day

Amy

xxxxx

How do you work your way around injuries?

