Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hello!! I am finally at home to upload YUMMY CAKES.

I had a fun weekend up in the north with some really good friends and really good food!!!

The main aim of these cakes was to have no ridiculously unhealthy ingredients like butter (NO), refined sugars (NO NO) and other odds and ends that might potentially lead to coronary heart disease and / or diabetes-SO… I didn’t take into account macro countings/ amounts etc therefore no macro breakdown and no calorie counts ๐Ÿ™‚ But I WILL be making these again and I’ll do it with macros… so all you competitors don;t need to fret ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate chip cake

This cake was really yummy gooey mushy cakey goodness. I have to say two things: 1. I didn’t invent this… I modified it fromย http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/05/31/deep-dish-cookie-pie/

and 2: it turned out a bit tooooo sweet for my taste buds

The orginal recipe had way too much sugar for my liking. So in a blender I mixed:

2 cans of chickpeas, 1/2 banana, not sure how much unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup dark chocolate chips, little bit of olive oil (ideally coconut oil but i wasn’t at home-story of my life- and had to work with what i had!!) baking powder, 1 cup oats, honey- not sure how much I sort of just kept adding it. I was paranoid it wouldn’t taste good because of leaving out the sugar- and not everyone is a health nut like me. So I just carried on pouring away… until it was way too sweet!!! But it managed to get eaten all up. By 10.am Saturday morning it was GONE!!! I baked it for about 40 minutes on 180

quinoa carrot cake and dark chocolate chip cake

The chocolate cake was the same as the one above with the following differences:

1 can of chickpeas, cocoa powder, less honey, 4 dates, no oats. Baked in the oven for 30 mins on 180.

My recommendations for this would be to add in oats!!! and maybe the extra can of chickpeas because this was all super super sweet. I loved the texture though- also really gooey and mushy.

The quinoa cake I invented on the spot. I was going to make my no-bake carrot cake cookiesย http://lovetotrain.com/2011/07/20/tea-and-cookies/

But decided upon a cake instead. Again I just threw in ingredients without measuring: so roughly: in the oven for 30 mins:

1 cup of quinoa- I cooked this on the stove with lots of cinnamon

2 grated carrots

lots of raisins

2 tbsp chia seeds and 4 tbsp water ( you could use eggs instead if you want)

agave syrup (organic sweetner… anything could be used here instead)

baking powder

more cinnamon

bit of olive oil

and Bake ๐Ÿ™‚

This was AMAZING. I finished it for breakfast… to the dismay of everyone else. Sorry… but the early bird catches the quinoa cake.

We also made some other delicious things:

Whats dinner with out Tehina???!!!

hummus... obviously

Seeing as though we were in the RESORT FOR FUN LOVERS

Nahariya...the resort for fun lovers

I took my workout to the beach ๐Ÿ™‚

Look out for another super yummy and easy GLUTEN FREE pancake recipe… xxx

Amy

 

 

 

 

